What I really want to know is this.

This is still the Sociology of Sex and Gender and I am still not really paying a whole lot of attention to it. See that note there at the bottom for my theories on that subject. I’m really digging the whole set up of this WordPress site, it’s extremely Chance friendly, which is totally awesome. Maybe now I’ll get past carrying around a notebook with me everywhere and go completely paperless like the world demands. Damn, I really want a Macbook. I’m going to get some Starbucks, some skinny jeans, a beanie, and just blog my way through the semester simply to fill up space on the internet for my own pure amusment. That’s the kind of mood I’m in today. I’m in the mood to spill out words on to a screen and just watch them appear. They don’t really need to make much sense or flow together nicely, I just want to fill space until my head empties out. I don’t think my head ever really does that. There’s always some kind of spew coming from somewhere about something. I can’t seem to help that. We’re discussing the theories on socialization in education of the genders. Our professor just shut the kid down the row from me down because he said that boys were typically better at math than girls because they were pushed more in those areas. I agree with him. She did not. I’m thinking that we’re probably not supposed to say things like that. Apparently that would be considered rude. I think that the classroom is the perfect setting for that. Where else can we bounce the ideas off each other and find some kind of intellegent feedback? I’m so tired of memorizing facts that might not be true tomorrow and spilling them back out for professors who already know the shit anyway. Why do we bother doing that and then calling it an education? You can learn more on a bus than you can learn in a classroom. More about life, anyway. It’s unfair how that doesn’t much seem to matter anymore. The things that keep you alive are secondary to the facts that keep publishing companies rolling in money that we don’t have to give them. I’ve played into the system for too long. I think this attitude comes from the general one I’ve adopted for the day of going with the flow. I kind of want to just get up and walk to the bus station. Take a semester off and just travel until I learn all the things that I really need to know. They don’t teach anything in the class room anymore. They don’t teach you what to say to a man on the edge of a bridge or a little boy who just lost his mother. They don’t teach you how to be rich or how to be poor. They don’t teach you how to love or how to laugh or what it means to find something that makes you happy and really enjoy it. They don’t teach you how to walk away from someone you don’t love anymore or how to get over heartbreak. They don’t teach you who to trust or which pieces of yourself are the ones you give away and which ones are the ones that already belong to someone else. They don’t teach you how to be famous. They don’t teach you how to find your true dreams and chase them with all that you have. They don’t teach you how to know what’s going on in someone else’s mind. They really aren’t teaching anything worth knowing. So, I’ll sit back here in my corner of the classroom and comment when I’ve something to add that doesn’t purpetuate this endless cycle and I’ll teach myself the things I really need to know. Who knows? Maybe I’ll actually learn something useful this semester.

___________________________________________________________

Footnote: There was probably supposed to be a point to taking this class, but I can’t quite remember what it is. I’m making a mental note there to get back on track, but that might not actually work out for me. I really need to bury myself in some kind of work. I need to find a pattern and a routine and fall into it until my head comes back together and I become useful again. This free spirit is amazing, but I’m not sure it’s practical for the things I’m supposed to be doing.

Leave a Reply

